Port Moresby Road Runners calendar

Port Moresby Road Runners (POMRR) has been conducting running events on the streets of Papua New Guinea’s capital for 36 years. All runners, joggers & walkers, even crawlers, are invited to participate.

Road runnersWhether training for the 2018 Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast or just in need of fresh air and friendly company, Road Runners is for you No one is too fast or too slow. Participate at your own pace and at your own risk.

Events start @ 5.00 pm unless otherwise indicated. Entry fee for each event is 20 toea. Be at the start 10 minutes before start time for race briefing.

#The Endurance Challenge is an annual point-score series.

For all POMRR enquiries, contact Simon Nutley on +675 7200 3295 or email snutley@fiocconutley.com.pg. For results see the “Scoreboard” in the Post-Courier or the weekly report. This edition of the Calendar was issued on 28 August 2016.

Date Venue Distance (km)
Sat 3 Sep Tokarara: meet near CRC Church & National Housing Corporation 1.2, 3.3 &8
Sat 10 Sep Ela Mart, Ela Beach 2, 3.5 & 8
Sat 17 Sep Port Moresby Post Office 3.3 & 8.4
Sat 24 Sep Port Moresby Grammar School 2.4 & 5
Sun 25 Sep Ela Mart & Beyond, Ela Beach, 5.30 AM START \: NEW EVENT 15
Sat 1 Oct “Simon of Cyrene” St Theresa’s Clinic/Jubilee School, Hibiscus St, Hohola 1.5, 4.7 & 7.9
Sat 8 Oct Port Moresby Post Office 3.3 & 8.4
Sat 15 Oct Mobil Service Station/Stop N Shop, Gerehu: Renbo courses 2, 4.3 & 8.6
Sat 22 Oct Deloitte Tower, Douglas St, Downtown 2, 5 & 8
Sun 23 Oct

Town-Airport Half Marathon, meet @ POM Post Office,

5.00 AM START

21.0975
Sat 29 Oct Ela Mart 2, 3.5 & 8
Sat 5 Nov Bishop Brothers, Ward’s Road, Hohola 2 & 7
Sat 12 Nov British High Commission, Gordons Five 2, 4 & 7
Sat 19 Nov De La Salle Bomana 3 & 7.5
Sat 26 Nov Holiday Inn, Waigani, meet @ Maybank car park 1.5, 3.3 & 6.6
Sun 27 Nov The Downtown 10,000: Deloitte Tower, Douglas St, Town,
5.30 AM START
10
Sat 3 Dec UPNG Waigani campus, meet near tennis court and oval 2.6, 5.8 & 11.6
Sat 10 Dec Kila Police Barracks, between Gabutu and Vabukori 1.8, 5 & 10
Sat 17 Dec Jackson’s Airport, TNT, Jackson’s Parade, Seven Mile 2 & 7
Wed 21 Dec Burn’s Peak Christmas Crawl, meet near corner of old Spring Garden Road and Walnut Place, Hohola, 5.30 PM START 3
Sat 24 Dec Port Moresby Post Office 3.3 & 8.4
Sat 31 Dec Lego Land, Australian High Commission compound, Konedobu 1.4, 5 & 8
Sat 7 Jan National Museum: the “Museum Mile” + “New Year Handicap”, Independence Drive, Waigani, meet front entrance, National Parliament 5
Sat 14 Jan Ela Beach Hotel 2.2, 4.1 & 8.6
Sat 21 Jan UPNG Waigani campus, meet near Uniforce car park 2.6, 5.8 & 11.6
Sat 28 Jan Mike Joyce Memorial, start @ corner of Bava Street and Taurama Road, Korobosea, park in POM Grammar rear car park 5
Sat 4 Feb Korobosea School, Gagoma Street, Korobosea 2, 4.8 & 9.6
Sat 11 Feb Jackson’s Airport, TNT, Jackson’s Parade, Seven Mile 2 & 7
Sat 18 Feb Holiday Inn, Waigani, meet @ Maybank car park 1.5, 3.3 & 6.6
Sat 25 Feb Lego Land, Australian High Commission compound, Konedobu 1.4, 5 & 8
Sat 4 Mar UPNG Waigani campus, meet near Uniforce car park 2.6, 5.8 & 11.6
Sat 11 Mar Fincorp, Independence Drive, Waigani 1.6, 5 & 8
Sat 18 Mar Ela Mart 2, 3.5 & 8
Sat 25 Mar The Rock + a Hard Place, meet @“The Rock” on the Poreporena Highway 2.5 & 8