Port Moresby Road Runners calendar

Welcome,

Port Moresby Road Runners (POMRR) has been conducting running events on the streets of Papua New Guinea’s capital for 43 years. All runners, joggers & walkers, even crawlers, are invited to participate.

Road runnersWhether training for the Olympics or just in need of fresh air and friendly company, POMRR is for you. No one is too fast or too slow. Participate at your own pace and at your own risk.

Saturday events start @ 5.00 pm. Entry fee for each event is 20 toea. Be at the start 10 minutes before start time for race briefing.

The Endurance Challenge is an annual six-round point-score series.

For enquiries: contact Simon Nutley on +675 7200 3295 or snutley@fiocconutley.com.pg. This edition of the Calendar was issued on 21 March 2022.

Port Moresby Road Runners calendar of events: April 2022 – August 2022

Date Venue (km)
Sat 2 Apr Jackson’s Airport, TNT, Jackson’s Parade, Seven Mile 2.5, 5 & 7
Sat 9 Apr Koroboro School, Gagoma St, Korobosea 1.8, 4.8 & 9.6
Sat 16 Apr Ela Beach Central, opposite Ela Beach Hotel 3, 4.8 & 9.8
Sat 23 Apr – R1, EC Saraga One-Stop Supermarket, Sir Reuben Taureka Highway, Saraga (oppDosite market). The long course is round 1 Endurance Challenge.
2.5, 5 & 10
Sat 30 Apr The Rock + a Hard Place, “The Rock” on the Poreporena Freeway 2.6, 4.2 & 7.8
Sat 7 May –  R2, EC National Library, next to Supreme Court, Waigani (turn in from Independence Drive). The long course is round 2 Endurance Challenge. 3.5, 6.4 & 9.8
Sat 14 May Aviat Club, Munidubu Street/Aviat Street, Konedobu 3, 6 & 9
Sat 21 May -R3, EC Ela Beach Central (opposite Ela Beach Hotel). The long course is round 3 Endurance Challenge. 3, 4.8 & 9.8
Sat 28 May Mobil Service Station/Stop ‘N’ Shop, Gerehu: Renbo courses 2, 4.3 & 8.6
Sat 4 Jun – R4, EC Air Niugini HQ, near the DC3 opposite Gateway Hotel, Morea Tobo Road, 7 Mile. The long course is round 4 Endurance Challenge. 1.1, 5.275 & 10.55
Sat 11 Jun Apec Haus 4 & 8
Sat 18 Jun – R5, EC UPNG Waigani campus, meet near Uniforce car park. The long course is round 5 Endurance Challenge. 2.8, 5 & 11.2
Sat 25 Jun Air Niugini HQ, near the DC3 opposite Gateway Hotel, Morea Tobo Road, 7 Mile 1.1, 3.3 & 5.275
Sun 26 Jun -R6, EC POMRR Marathon Crusade: Marathon (0430 start), Half Marathon (0600 start), Quarter Marathon (0700 start) & 1/8 Marathon (0800 start), Air Niugini HQ near the DC3 opposite Gateway Hotel, Morea Tobo Road, 7 Mile. All events will count for round 6 Endurance Challenge (bonus points for longer events, the marathon will attract most points) 42.195

21.1,

10.55 &

5.275

Sat 2 Jul Solomon Islands High Commission, Kiroki Street, Gordons Five 2, 4 & 7
Sat 9 Jul Police Headquarters, Poreporena Freeway, Konedobu 2, 4.8 & 7.4
Sat 16 Jul St Teresa’s Clinic/Jubilee School, Hibiscus St, Hohola 1.5, 4.7 & 7.9
Sat 23 Jul Port Moresby Grammar School 2.4, 6 & 8.8
Sat 30 Jul Ela Beach Tower, opposite Apec Haus, new courses 2.1, 4.8 & 7
Sat 6 Aug Murray Barracks, beneath rain trees, Ward’s Road, near 3-Mile Roundabout 2.5 & 7.2
Sat 13 Aug Kila Police Barracks, between Gabutu and Vabukori 1.8, 5 & 10
Sat 20 Aug Ela Murray School, opposite Rev Sione Kami Memorial Church, Gabaka St, Gordon 2.8, 6 & 7.8
Sat 27 Aug Port Moresby Post Office, cnr Champion Parade/Cuthbertson St, Downtown 1.1, 3.3 & 8.4