Port Moresby Road Runners calendar

Welcome,

Port Moresby Road Runners (POMRR) has been conducting running events on the streets of Papua New Guinea’s capital for 40 years. All runners, joggers & walkers, even crawlers, are invited to participate.

Road runners

Port Moresby Road Runners (POMRR) has been conducting running events on the streets of Papua New Guinea’s capital for 42 years. All runners, joggers & walkers, even crawlers, are invited to participate. People with disabilities are especially welcome. Whether training for the 2024 Olympics or just in need of fresh air and friendly company, Road Runners is for you.

Participate at your own pace, in your own way, and at your own risk.

Events start @ 5.00 pm unless otherwise indicated.

Entry fee for each event is 20 toea. Be at the venue 10 minutes before start time for race briefing. For all POMRR enquiries call Simon Nutley on 7200 3295 or snutley@fiocconutley.com.pg.

For results and other news read The Post-Courier. And listen to NBC radio on Paul Taumik Jnr’s National Sports program on Monday and Friday mornings. This edition of the Calendar was issued on 21 August 2021.

Port Moresby Road Runners calendar of events: September 2021 – March 2022

 

Date Venue Distance (km)
Sat 4 Sep Holiday Inn, Waigani, main entrance, Islander Drive, near Kina Bank 1.6, 3.5 & 7.0
Sat 11 Sep Ela Beach (middle car park, opposite Ela Beach Hotel) 3, 6 & 9.8
Sat 18 Sep Kila Police Barracks, between Gabutu and Vabukori 1.8, 5 & 10
Sat 25 Sep Saraga One-Stop Supermarket, Sir Reuben Taureka Highway, opposite Saraga Market 3, 5 & 9
Sat 2 Oct Mobil Service Station/Stop N Shop, Gerehu: Renbo courses 2, 4.3 & 8.6
Sat 9 Oct Ela Murray School, opposite Rev Sione Kami Memorial Church, Gabaka St, Gordon 2.8, 6 & 7.8
Sat 16 Oct Air Niugini HQ, Seven Mile 2.1, 6.4 & 10.55
Sat 23 Oct Jackson’s Airport, TNT, Jackson’s Parade, Seven Mile 2.5, 5 & 7
Sat 30 Oct Air Niugini HQ, Seven Mile 2.1 & 6.4
Sun 31 Oct POMRR Marathon Crusade: Marathon (0430 start) & Half Marathon (0600 start) & Quarter Marathon (0630 start) & 1/8 Marathon (0700 start), Air Niugini HQ beneath the DC3 opposite Gateway Hotel, 7 Mile

42.195

21.1,

10.55 & 5.275

Sat 6 Nov Aviat Club, Munidubu Street/Aviat Street, Konedobu 3, 6 & 9
Sat 13 Nov Port Moresby Grammar School 2.4, 6 & 8.8
Sat 20 Nov St Theresa’s Clinic/Jubilee School, Hibiscus St, Hohola 1.5, 4.7 & 7.9
Sat 27 Nov Holiday Inn, Waigani, main entrance, Islander Drive, near Kina Bank 1.6, 3.5 & 7.0
Sun 28 Nov

The Downtown 10,000: The Tower, Douglas St, Town,

5.30 AM START

10
Sat 4 Dec Ela Beach Tower, opposite Apec Haus, new courses 2.1, 4.8 & 7
Sat 11 Dec Saraga One-Stop Supermarket, Sir Reuben Taureka Highway, opposite Saraga Market 3, 5 & 9
Wed 15 Dec Burn’s Peak Christmas Crawl, meet near corner of old Spring Garden Road and Walnut Place, Hohola, 5.30 PM START 3
Sat 18 Dec Ela Beach (middle car park, opposite Ela Beach Hotel) 3, 6 & 9.8
Sat 25 Dec Lego Land, Australian High Commission compound, Konedobu 1.4, 5 & 8
Sat 1 Jan Apec Haus, Ela Beach Road/Musgrave Street, Ela Beach 4 & 8
Sat 8 Jan Murray Barracks, Ward’s Road, near 3 Mile Roundabout 2.8, 5.6 & 8.2
Sat 15 Jan UPNG Waigani campus, meet near Uniforce car park 2.8, 5.2 & 11.4
Sat 22 Jan Port Moresby Grammar School, featuring the Mike Joyce Memorial, Bava Street/Taurama Road, Korobosea 5
Sat 29 Jan Koroboro School, Gagoma Street, Korobosea 2, 4.8 & 9.6
Sat  5 Feb Jackson’s Airport, TNT, Jackson’s Parade, Seven Mile 2.5, 5 & 7
Sat 12 Feb Aviat Club, Munidubu Street/Aviat Street, Konedobu 3, 6 & 9
Sat 19 Feb The Rock + a Hard Place, meet @“The Rock” on the Poreporena Freeway 2.8, 4.4 & 7.8
Sat 20 Feb National Library, next to Supreme Court, Waigani (turn in from Independence Drive) 3.4, 6 & 9.4
Sat  5 Mar Ela Beach Tower, opposite Apec Haus, new courses 2.1, 4.8 & 7
Sat 12 Mar Solomon Islands High Commission, Kiroki Street/Nilkare Avenue, Gordons Five 2, 4 & 7
Sat 19 Mar Mobil Service Station/Stop ‘N’ Shop, Gerehu: Renbo courses 2, 4.3 & 8.6
Sat 26 Mar Holiday Inn, Waigani, main entrance, Islander Drive, near Kina Bank 1.6, 3.5 & 7.0