People moves: Cabinet Appointments confirmed


Prime Minister Peter O’Neill appoints 33 Ministers.

The second O’Neill government has a total of 33 Ministers, six more than in the previous Government. Ministers and their portfolios have been announced as follows:

Prime Minister & NEC, Sports and APEC – Peter O’Neill
Deputy Prime Minister& Minister For Treasury – Charles Abel
Minister For Inter-Government Relations – Kevin Isifu
Minister For Finance & Rural Development – James Marape
Minister For National Planning & Monitoring – Richard Maru
Minister For Public Enterprise & State Investments – William Duma
Minister For Petroleum & Energy – Fabian Pok
Minister For Mining – Johnson Tuke
Minister For Foreign Affairs & Trade – Rimbink Pato
Minister For Public Service – Elias Kapavore
Minister For Environment, Conservation & Climate Change – John  Pundari
Minister For Transport – Wesley Nukundj
Minister For Commerce & Industry – Wera Mori
Minister For Agriculture & Livestock – Benny Allan
Minister For Community Development, Youth & Religion – Soroi Eoe
Minister For Tourism & Culture – Emil Tammur
Minister For Education – Nick Kuman
Minister For Higher Education, Research, Science & Technology – Pila Niningi
Minister For Justice & Attorney General – Davis Steven
Minister For Defense – Solan Mirisim
Minister For Police – Jelta Wong
Minister For Correctional Services – Roy Biyama
Minister For Housing & Urbanization – John Kaupa
Minister For Labour & Industrial Relations – Mehrra Kipefa
Minister For Health & HIV/AIDS – Sir Puka Temu
Minister For Fisheries – Patrick Basa
Minister For Communication & Information Technology – Francis Maneke
Minister For Works & Implementation – Michael Nali
Minister For Lands & Physical Planning – Justin Tkatchenko
Minister For Civil Aviation – Alfred Manase
Minister For Bougainville Affairs – Fr Simon Dumarinu
Minister For Forestry – Douglas Tomuriesa
Minister For Immigration & Border Security – Petrus Thomas


Story continues after advertisment...


  1. Peter Akori says

    A balanced allocation of Ministries to every province. Thanks for giving two senior Ministries to Eastern Highlands MPs; Johnson Tuke, Mining and Merrha Mine Kipefa, Labour and Industrial Relations. EHP is known for Police or Defence Ministries in the past 9 Parliaments!
    However PNC needs to relinquish some ministries to other parties as 17 Ministries is one too many to a single party.

Leave a Reply