People Moves: Cardno, National Petroleum Company, Air Niugini and more


People 02Cooper joins Cardno

Andrew Cooper has been appointed PNG Country Manager for infrastructure and environmental services company, Cardno.

Cooper was previously General Manager at UMW Niugini Ltd and, most recently, Chief Executive Officer of Tropical Business.

Sonk confirmed as MD of National Petroleum Company

Wapu Sonk has been confirmed as Managing Director of the National Petroleum Company of PNG, after acting in the role since January. He was previously with the NPCP’s predecessor, Kroton.

New HR manager for ANL

Rei Logona has been appojnted as the Humand Resources Manager at Air Niugini. He replaces Elsie Paisawa, who has been moved to special projects role.

Logona was previously with Solomon Airlines.

New Australian foreign minister and parliamentary secretary

Julie Bishop has been confirmed as Australia’s new foreign minister, following the election of a new Liberal-National Coalition federal government led by Tony Abbott. Bishop was previously shadow foreign minister.

Story continues after advertisment...

Queensland senator Brett Mason has been appointed Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Foreign Affairs. Andrew Robb is the new Trade Minister.

The position of Parliamentary Secretary for Pacific Island Affairs, utlised by the previous Labor government, has been abolished by the incoming government.

Polye elected chair of IMF/World Bank

PNG Treasurer Don Polye has been elected as the next Chairman of the Board of Governors of the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank. Polye takes up the position in 2014.

Hoot appointed as co-chair of APEC Group

Clarence Hoot, Director of the Business Investment and Export Promotions Division of the Investment Promotion Authority, has been appointed as co-chair of the Asia Pacific Economic Communities (APEC) Expert Groups.

AusAID head resigns

Peter Baxter, the Director-General of AusAID, Australia’s international aid agency, has resigned. His deputy Ewan McDonald has been appointed Acting Director-General.