People moves: Ok Tedi Mining, Bemobile, Coppermoly, Nautilus Minerals and more


People 02Big changes at Ok Tedi Mining, the new chair at Bemobile finally takes his seat, a new exploration manager at Coppermoly and board changes at Nautilus.

Government takes control of OTML board

The PNG Government has dismissed Sir Mekere Morauta as Chairman of Ok Tedi Mining Ltd (OTML) and appointed four new board members.

These are: Acting PNG Treasury Secretary Diari Vele, who will act as chairman, Western Province Acting Provincial Administrator Dr Modowa Gumoi, OTML Managing Director Nigel Parker and banking and finance executive Dr Jacob Weiss.

Johnson now Chair of Bemobile

Following the PNG Government’s recapitalisation of Bemobile, Andrew Johnson has formally taken over as Chairman from  Syd Yates, who had been in the position for the last 18 months. Johnson’s appointment was first announced earlier this year.

New exploration manager at Coppermoly

Australian mining company, Coppermoly Ltd has engaged Michael Erceg as its Explorations Manager. Erceg, a former regional explorations manager with Newcrest Mining, has also worked for Amoco Minerals, Cyprus Minerals, Elders Resources, Plutonic Resources, Chase Minerals, Sino Gold and Straits Resources over the last 28 years.

Story continues after advertisment...

New Acting Secretary at Treasury

The National Executive Council has appointed Dairi Vele as the Acting Secretary for the Papua New Guinea Department of Treasury. Vele, 38, replaces Simon Tosali. Vele was Director of the Gas Project Coordination Office before being appointed to his new role.

Board changes at Nautilus

Matthew Hammond has resigned from the board of sea miner Nautilus Minerals. He will be replaced on the board by Usama Barwani and Mark Horn, who are respectively the nominees of the company’s two largest shareholders, MB Holding Company LLC and Metalloinvest.