People Moves: executive moves and changes relevant to Papua New Guinea


People 02Ross Garnaut resigns from Ok Tedi

Economist Ross Garnaut resigned this month as Chairman of OK Tedi Mining Ltd, citing the difficulties of fulfilling his duties following the travel ban to PNG imposed on him by PNG’s PM Peter O’Neill in November 2012.

Former PM Sir Mekere Morauta has been nominated to take over the position. He took over from Garnaut as Chairman of PNG Sustainable Development Program Limited in October 2012.

Rio Tinto global CEO resigns

Rio Tinto’s global CEO Tom Albanese has been replaced by Melburnian Sam Walsh. Rio Tinto is the majority shareholder of Bourganville Copper, and is also engaged in exploration activity in PNG.

Changes at Coppermoly Limited

Managing Director of Coppermoly Limited, a POMSOX-listed junior mining company, Peter Swiridiuk has resigned his position to ‘pursue other professional interests’ according to a company release. Geoff Booth has been appointed Non-Executive Director and Independent Chairman of the Board of Directors.

New boards for state-owned enterprises

Prime Minister Peter O’Neill in mid-January announced appointments for the boards of state-owned enterprises: Air Niugini, PNG Power, Motor Vehicle Insurance Limited (MVIL), Telikom PNG, Post PNG, Eda Ranu, Water PNG and PNG Ports. Appointed by the National Executive Council, the new boards are as follows.


Story continues after advertisment...
  • Chairman: Garth McIlwain
  • Deputy Chairman: Sir Frederick Reiher
  • Directors: Sir James Tjoeng, Simon Foo, Sir Noel Levi, Luke Minjukili, Capt. Leslie Heyward.


  • Chairman: Bill Sweet
  • Deputy Chairman: Peter Pokawin
  • Directors: Joseph Karap, Seseka Korona, Jack Baru


  • Chairman:  Mahesh Patel (CEO of City Pharmacy Limited)
  • Deputy Chairman: Martin Veisame
  • Directors: Cedric Rondoke, Avia Koisen, Essau Wareh, David Cox, Malcolm Lewis, Dr Samuel Kopamu.


  • Chairman: Dr Ken Ngangan
  • Deputy Chairman: Eno Daera
  • Directors: Janet Sios, Mark Baia, Samson Jubi, Blaise Nangoi and John Chris

PNG Ports

  • Chairman: Nataniel Poya
  • Deputy Chairman: Job Suat
  • Directors: Luke Niap, Igo Oala, Harey Nii, Professor John Puma, Patrick Amini and Eddie Heningut.


  • Chairman: Mary Karo
  • Directors: David Erico, Leslie Hoffman, Vincent Mirupasi and Peter Inara


  • Chairman: Reuben Aila
  • Deputy Chairman Mary Laimo
  • Directors: Roddie Wada, Luke Ako, Sam Goia Akmagi and Bungtabu Brown


  • Chairman: Joshua Bakiri
  • Deputy Chairman: Thomas Laka
  • Directors: Robert Bradshaw, Camdan Pratt, Peter Suar, Sylvestor Kenatsi, Sana Somare and Finkewe Zurenuoc

Leave a Reply