In brief: Papua New Guinea to receive K1 billion loan from Japan and other business stories


Japan helps Papua New Guinea with a generous loan, the Internal Revenue Commission launches its annual work plan and Prime Minister Marape visits Jiwaka Province.

In brief: K100 million for Ihu Special Economic Zone and other business stories


Ihu Special Economic Zone gets funds, Prime Minister Marape urges national to go into small agriculture businesses and the Internal Revenue Commission opens an office in Jiwaka Province. Business news to stay on top.

Jiwaka Province: Papua New Guinea Business Guide


The name Jiwaka came about when the first two letters of Jimi, Waghi and Kambia were combined to make a portmanteau word. The province shares its borders with the Western Highlands, Chimbu and Madang provinces. It has three districts—Jimi, North Waghi and Anglimp-South Waghi—and two growing towns, Minj and Banz. Jiwaka was formed by an Act of Parliament in 2009. The centre of Jiwaka is the fertile Waghi Valley, which is surrounded by mountains.

To access this post, you must purchase Individual Subscription or Corporate Subscription.